Wemo® Insight Smart Plug

P-F7C029

Wemo® Insight Smart Plug

P-F7C029

Wemo® Insight Smart Plug is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 56.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-F7C029, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_belkin
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

$49.99

Wemo Insight Product Shot

MONITOR YOUR ENERGY COSTS FROM ANYWHERE

With the Wemo Insight Wi-Fi Smart Plug, you can monitor energy consumption right from your phone or tablet. This Smart Plug provides real-time reports on how much energy your devices are consuming. Use the Smart Plug to monitor how much a space heater is costing you, or how much energy a particular room consumes.

Wemo Insight with Iron

CONTROL YOUR HOME REMOTELY

The Wemo Insight Smart Plug uses your existing home Wi-Fi network to provide wireless control of lamps, heaters, fans, and more – with no subscription or hub required. Simply plug the Wemo Insight Smart Plug into an electrical outlet, plug a device into the Smart Plug, and control your device using the free Wemo app. You’ll never have to worry that you accidentally left the space heater or iron on again.

Wemo Insight with Fan

SCHEDULE YOUR LIGHTS AND APPLIANCES

Wemo Insight lets you easily set automatic schedules for any device that’s plugged in – from lamps to fans to space heaters. Using the free Wemo app, you can keep your home comfortable by scheduling a fan to turn on at noon, or synchronize a lamp with the sunset so you never come home to a dark house.

Wemo Insight with Wemo App

PROTECT YOUR HOME WITH RANDOMIZED LIGHTS

With the ability to randomize your lights, Wemo Insight protects your home better than a mechanical timer. When you use the Wemo App to activate “Away Mode,” the smart plug will turn plugged-in lights on and off randomly to make it appear like you’re home – even when you’re not.

Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Home

SAY IT: HANDS-FREE CONTROL WITH AMAZON ALEXA AND GOOGLE HOME

Wemo Insight works seamlessly with Google Home and Amazon Alexa to give you hands-free voice control over your devices. Pair Wemo Insight with Google Home or Amazon Alexa to turn your lights, your appliances, or an entire room on or off with just the power of your voice.

Works with Nest Products

PAIRS WITH NEST FOR AUTOMATIC HOME-AWAY CONTROL

When paired with Nest’s Thermostat, Nest’s “home” and “away” modes can sync with your Wemo Insight for automatic control. Nest can tell Wemo when you’re home or away, so your fan can turn off to save energy when the house is empty. Or your lights can turn on automatically when you walk in the door.

Works with IFTTT

WORKS WITH IFTTT FOR AUTOMATED RECIPES

"If This, Then That" is a free web-based service that opens up an amazing array of possibilities for your Wemo Insight. Visit IFTTT.com to find "recipes" for making Wemo Insight turn lights on and off based on real-world events, send you push notifications about device activity, and much more.

Wemo Insight Product Shot

PRODUCT DIMENSIONS

  • 2.9” L x 2.9” H x 2.3” D

WEIGHT

  • 2.84 ounces

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

  • Wi-Fi router
  • Android 4.4 or higher
  • iOS 9 or higher

GENERAL SPECIFICATIONS

  • Electrical Ration: 120V/15A/60Hz/1800W
  • Wi-Fi: 2.4GHz 801.11n

Free Wemo App:

app on itunes store Android app on Google Play Android app on Amazon

Package Includes:

  • Wemo Insight Wi-Fi Smart Plug
  • Quick Start Guide

  • Turn lights and appliances on or off — from anywhere
  • Monitor your electronics’ usage/cost and receive custom notifications
  • Put your lights and appliances on a schedule or sync them to Sunset and Sunrise
  • Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Voice for hands-free voice control
  • Works with Nest Thermostat for automatic home and away modes
  • Works with your existing home Wi-Fi network and mobile Internet (3G/4G), no hub or subscription required
  • Modular system. You can add additional Wemo Insight Switches easily, any time
  • Intuitive, easy set up and easy to use
  • Works with the entire family of Wemo products
  • Works with IFTTT, connecting you to a whole world of Web apps
  • Free Wemo App for Android and iOS operating systems
  • One-year limited warranty
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Confusing Software I have 3 Insight plugs. The software to program the use times is very difficult to figure out. How much more complicated can you make it??? Answer... No much more.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised and easy setup Have used the WeMo light switch with good results, and this gives me more flexibility to use with other light sources.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No support for multiple locations The mobile app does not support multiple location (e.g. switches installed at a Primary home and Vacation home). The purpose of these types of switches is to be able to monitor and control devices when you are not physically there. This is a serious limitation.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Nice compact switch. Still gives access to other plug in at the wall outlet. Easy to set up. Converting from X10. The price could be cheaper for what it is. It should be able to dim at this price.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smart switch This is a huge upgrade from the basic Wemo switch that is too long and too bulky. Same functionality with an added ability to monitor power usage. Easy set up and use through the Wemo app of ios.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Lacks Connectability The build quality of the Wemo switch is very good. It feels sturdy. It also is visually acceptable and I have no problem with having it on outlets that visitors will see. The setup was easy and after the first switch it remembers your wifi settings so it makes future switches even easier to set up. One complaint I have is that it lacks integration into some home automation systems. I have a Harmony remote and there is no ability to control the Wemo switch. I was hoping to use this remote to control the switch but there doesn't seem to be a way. I would expect to have better integration.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product but why did I get version 1? I bought a switch about a year ago from Amazon and the app reports it as hardware version 2. The one I received yesterday is hardware version 1. Why are you still selling old hardware from your own site?
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a handy outlet I purchased this outlet to automatically turn on and off an aquarium light. It works perfectly using the app to set an on and an off time. The only complaint would be that the aquarium light only draws 1 amp. In order to use the features of the outlet to calculate the energy usage, I can only set the standby draw at 2 amps. So, it never knows when it is on and when it is off causing the energy usage to be incorrect. Not a problem for my application but users should beware.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cool features, I think... would love to tell you about the cool features but I can't access the Wemo network which is just two rooms away. The WiFi ability of the wemo Insight leaves much to be desired. I now know why they sell a WiFi range extender.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Barely connects, but when it does it is okay. This thing BARELY works, never connects when you move outlets and it is just such a pain in the rear to reset and re-connect to the network. EVERY OTHER DEVICE (3 laptops, 4 tablets, smart watch, 3 phones) connects flawlessly. This thing... just sucks. WHEN it works, it's fantastic. Probably won't buy any more of them.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super handy efficient for IOT around home.... Once one successfully links the Insight switch to one's WiFi network, it can be programmed to control a wide variety of very useful tasks. Control is only a cell phone away or directly on device.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely useful. I want more of them. So easy and useful once you get the knack. Right now I am controlling my back deck lights and my Christmas tree with two versions of these. I turn them on and off twice a day, sometimes with sunrise/sunset an d other times with the clock. We live in Ontario, yet I can randomly control the lights from our home in Florida. And, I have two security cameras that can watch or it will save motion incidents I can go back to.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product I bought this a week ago and this was the best choice I could have made. I am very happy with its performance. I simply created a rule that turns the light that is connected to it on and off at certain times. I saw where a lot of reviews made initial setup sound complicated, but it was extremely easy (connect to the switches own wifi network and then follow the step by step instructions to connect to your wifi network with your password). I highly recommend this product. I haven't had a chance to get into playing with IFTTT, but I think that will have a lot of benefits.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rules dont work either Cant setup rules after spending hours trying to configure it
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pain to setup To be short and to the point. For me it has been very painful to setup and I know a thing a two about computers and networking. Once I was able to get pass the initial setup to my Wi-Fi router the device would not show up and when it did show up a few seconds later it would drop the connection. When it stayed connected after one command it would drop the connection again. Just tested it again and this time I was able to turn it on and off , on and off again before it dropped the connection. After 30 seconds it connected again. FYI, my router is only 10 feet from the switch . Belkin , does it really have to be this hard !??????
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Command and Control for your plug-in devices I bought these to control when my hot water re-circulator runs, and when the dehumidifier runs. Through the WEMO App, they have great command and control capabilities, with "Insight" into how much power the device is using, and a programmable kWh rate that gives an accurate representation of how much this device will cost you to operate per day or month. They advertise the ability to hook it up to IFTTT, which is great in theory, until you see how limited IFTTT is, and that to do more, you have to buy into more advanced IFTTT. It's a great functionality, especially for those who are makers/programmers, but at the end of the day, a one-function IFTTT is very limited, and not really effective.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just perfect I've been using the switch for more than half a year now, it's easy to use, works perfectly - I'm more than satisfied
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rules don't work I love this idea. I bought one with high hopes however my hopes have been shattered. The schedule doesn't work. Creating rules for my lamp to turn on and off simply doesn't work. I will be returning this to Best Buy for a full refund.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exceeds my expectations I'd love to be one of the consumers to test/evaluate your products, I see, understand and value the potential for this line of devices. I got this device on a whim, i saw it at a good price and figured i'd give one a try. I debated getting 2 or more at the price it was advertised at, but decided not to because i wasn't sure how it would work. Just don't plan on plugging 2 of these into your 2 outlet wall jack, it only fits in the top position to avoid obstructing the other outlet. Now that i have one WeMo Insight device in house, i wish i would have bought more! It was simple to install and i got very insightful information back immediately. No pun intended, it was literally insightful! I cannot believe the energy that is being pulled by some devices, even when they are off. I know that in the first month of using this device i will likely save $7 on my electricity bill. That was achieved by simply using the app to shut the power off to connected devices, which prevents all the phantom energy from being used. I also now have a better understanding how power thirsty some devices are when they are operating, so i can be smarter about how i consume energy. Besides the very simple application i've explored so far, i have many other things i want to try once i have additional devices. I want to explore more of the rules and monitoring aspects, but i am very happy with this purchase. Anytime i purchase something that helps me save money over the long run, i am pretty happy. This was a real eye opener and i am very pleased.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, easy and flexible I bought this to replace the old style timer that needs physical manilulation everytime tou need to set the timer. WeMo was small, easy and I bought my second one!
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from unusable because WeMo app requires Android 4.4 I am still waiting for WeMo app for Android 4.1. I added this line because my review was "2 characters too short".
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from limited value I bought two WeMo insight outlet/switches to try out in "mission critical" applications. The results are not promising. I plugged one into a wine a/c unit that has to keep a room at below 60 consistently. And one on a critical sump pump that has to always be available when any significant rain occurs, to avoid a flooded finish basement. 1. Both WeMo units spontaneously turned OFF this morning at 4am. My guess is that it was related to a rain storm which included a couple of thunderclaps within some minutes of when the WeMo units reported stopping running. Although this was a modest storm and certainly none of the lightning/thunder seemed close, the fact that both units defaulted to OFF, when they were both supposed to be ON, points to some super-sensitivity of these WeMo units. Nothing else in the building was affected. So, on this alone, I have to abandon my trial, since I cannot have something turning off these machines permanently without my knowing. Once I noticed the problem and turned the WeMo units on, the pump and a/c unit came on easily enough, but this amounts to zero reliability. 2. Notifications of the rules I had established seemed to be erratic. I would be getting notices consistently every few minutes when a device turned on or off or was on for x amount of time, but then the notices would stop for hours on end, even though the units were running many times an hour. 3. The wattages being reported as used were suspect. a) the a/c unit, which the manufacturer told me yesterday runs between 900-1000 watts consistently when each unit leaves the factory, was reported by Wemo as being about 740 watts. So, probably a 20% or so error, presumably. b) the sump pump was only running for 15 second intervals every 5-8 minutes, and even though it is a 1/3 hp pump, the daily report is saying that it is using 0.003 kilowatt hours per half hour. Which if I do the math right, means it is using .003 x 1000 = 3.0 watts / half hour or 6.0 watts per hour. Waaaa? A large pump that is turning on 10 times an hour and shooting many gallons of water up a 10 ft pipe each time, used only a few watts in the entire hour. I may have almost discovered a perpetual motion machine -- though I think not. So, maybe I can use these devices to turn on and off a couple of lights, but not for anything I really need to depend on.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from worked for a week. I have two of the insight switches and they worked as I wanted them to. Yesterday I disabled the rules for both of the switches and moved one to a different outlet (the picture). It won't turn on manually or via the app. It is as dead as it comes. I thought at least it would last a few more weeks. I don't want to buy it again as well as deal with your expensive customer services for this unit. I didn't find any information on what could be wrong. I tried the reset, but neither the wifi icon or anything works. I could use some guidance on this puppy.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect I was concerned about the way that my refrigerator was running. I bought the WeMo Insight switch so that I could find out how much power it was consuming and how long it was running. The average power consumed while on and average total run time for the day are valuable pieces of information, and I love the remote monitoring. I would give the Insight switch 5 stars if it would show the total run time and power consumption for the last, say, 10-15 days. In addition, I would tell all my friends about it if you could save that information to a spreadsheet!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Has potential, but software is limited I bought this as a way to get a notification when my washing machine is done. You can set the power threshold, but not a time threshold (for example: only switch to idle if power is less than 2W for at least 1 minute). Without the time threshold, I get a notification every time my washer switches modes (wash, rinse, spin) and sometimes a few extra due to who knows what. It's more or less worthless for its intended use.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and reliable Before choosing between the simple switch or the insight switch, you must know the insight switch have a great feature : you can easily setup a rule to turn off the switch after n minutes. Useful for an iron... you'll never forget it plugged... no risk for your home !
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe, we will see . . . I brought this item with the idea it would make my life a little easier . . . I downloaded the software for my iPhone but it doesn't always find the switch . . . bumber!
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but needs improvement It was a little finicky getting it programmed I had to uninstall the app a few times before it would recognize the switch. You can't control Wemos from multiple locations with the same device. Each location has to be on a separate app so you would have to have it on two different devices. Once I was able to finally get it programmed and upgrade the firmware it has worked very well.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Add a feature Love product just wish had the ability to remote access from two different networks. Since I use them at my office and home
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smart plug I needed a way to control some lights at our vacation home. Th is plug works great. I can turn the lights on using the app and I can set rules so that they come on and go off at specific times and days when I'm not there.
Date published: 2016-07-01
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-F7C029, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_belkin
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 281ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

You Might Also Like...