Device Properties


On the Device Properties screen, you can manage all aspects of the devices attached to your Belkin Network USB Hub. You can specify general settings such as the name that device will appear as in the Control Center, whether the device should automatically connect with a computer via the Hub as soon as the computer starts, and more.

To access the Device Properties screen, select a device in the Control Center and click Properties.

General Properties
Device Connection Properties
Printer Connection Properties

General Properties

The General tab of the Device Properties screen enables you to change the name the device appears as in the Control Center and displays various reference information about the device.

In the Display name field, enter the name of the device as you want it to appear in the Control Center. The default is gathered by the Control Center from the device itself. The information from the device will always appear as the USB device name, even if you change the Display name.

The Device speed is determined by the speed supported by the particular device. The actual speed of the device is also determined by other factors such as your network configuration.

The available speeds are:
Hi Speed: USB products that carry the "Hi-Speed USB" logo on packaging and support a speed of 480 Megabytes per Second (Mb/s).
Full Speed: USB products that carry the basic "Certified USB" logo on packaging and support a speed of 1.5 Mb/s and 12Mb/s.
Low Speed: Low speed and Full speed are often used interchangeably by device manufacturers.

The General tab also contains reference information about the device.

Back to Top

Device Connection Properties

The Connection tab of the Device Properties screen enables you to specify whether the device should connect automatically to this computer when the computer is started, and to specify any software that should start automatically when the device connects. The information in this topic applies to all devices except printers. To learn about connection properties for printers, see Printer Connection Properties.

Under Connection Settings, mark the Automatically connect this device when Control Center starts checkbox if you want to automatically connect to this device each time the Control Center starts. If you mark this checkbox along with the checkbox to specify that the Control Center should start (in Network USB Hub Settings), the device will automatically connect each time you start the computer.

Due to network failures or other factors, connections to devices may occasionally be lost. If you want the Control Center to automatically reconnect with the device should this occur, mark the Attempt to reconnect if a connection is lost checkbox. When you mark this, the Control Center will try to reconnect with the device until the connection is reestablished or the computer is shut down.

Under Start Program, specify settings for any software associated with this device. For example, if the device is a Webcam, it probably has an associated software that enables it to capture video. By marking the Launch a program when this device connects checkbox you can specify that the software start automatically whenever you connect with the Webcam. You can also specify to Disconnect device when the program is closed if you want to free up the device for use by other computers when you close a particular piece of software. The two checkboxes can be marked independantly of each other.

In the Program field, Browse to the exe for the software you want to associate with the device. You can also enter the path to the exe directly in the field. Once your settings are saved, only the name of the exe appears in the Program field.

Back to Top

Printer Connection Properties

The Connection tab of the Device Properties screen enables you to specify certain settings specific to printers.
 
Under Connection Settings, you can select one of three options for automatically connecting the device.

Mark the Automatically connect when the Control Center starts checkbox if you want this computer to automatically connect to this printer each time the computer starts. You would probably want to select this option if this computer is the only one that will use the printer. If you always want to manually connect to the device via the Control Center, select the Never automatically connect, I will always connect manually option. If the printer is being shared among multiple computers, we recommend selecting the This is a shared printer, automatically connect and disconnect only when printing option. With this option, the printer is automatically connected when a print job is sent to it, then disconnected as soon as the job completes so the printer is then available for other computers.

The Printer field is enabled if you select either of the automatic connection options. From the dropdown list, select the printer driver associated with this printer.

Due to network failures or other factors, connections to devices may occasionally be lost. If you want the Control Center to automatically reconnect with this device should this occur, mark the Attempt to reconnect if a connection is lost checkbox. When you mark this, the Control Center will try to reconnect with the device until the connection is reestablished or the computer is shut down.

Under Start Program, specify settings for any software associated with this printer. By marking the Launch a program when this device connects checkbox you can specify that that software start automatically whenever you connect with the printer. You can also specify to Disconnect device when program is closed to free up the printer for use by other computers whenever you close a particular piece of software. The two checkboxes can be marked independantly of each other.

In the Program field, Browse to the exe for the software you want to associate with the printer. You can also enter the path to the exe directly in the field. Once your settings are saved, only the name of the exe appears in the Program field.

Back to Top