N+ Router and Modem-Router - Storage and Storage Manager

The N+ Router and Modem-Router feature a USB A port on the back to connect a USB storage device. The storage is automatically shared over the network using the SMB protocol used in Windows Networking. Storage supports the FAT, FAT32 and NTFS file systems on drives to 1 TB in size. You can connect more than one Storage Device by using a USB Hub, preferably a self-powered one.

The Router and Modem-Router come with optional Storage Manager software for Windows and Mac OS. Storage Manager makes it easier to connect to and disconnect from storage devices. It is not needed to use the storage, you can use Windows Explorer or the network browsers on MacOS, Linux and other Operating Systems that support SMB. 

 

Using the Storage Device without using the software

You can use the Storage Device without installing additional software. In Windows, simply open \\192.168.2.1 in any Explorer Window (or use Start, Run \\192.168.2.1). The storage device will appear and you can access it.

The downside to accessing the device this way on Windows is that there is no way to properly disconnect from the drive (making sure all disk caches are flushed etc.) when you are about to remove it. For that reason it is recommended to install Storage Manager on all Windows machines connecting to the Storage devices.

To use the Storage on Mac OS, just browse the network, locate your N+ router there and open it to see the attached Storage Devices:

When you have opened the actual Storage Device on Mac OS, an Eject icon will show in the left column allowing you to safely disconnect the Mac from the device:

The fact that the storage can be used without software allows you to access it from Operating Systems for which there is no Storage Manager, such as Linux. You can just opening smb://192.168.2.1 in most modern file managers like Konquerer or Nautilus.

 

Belkin Storage Manager for Windows

Storage Manager for Windows is a small and straight-forward application. It has two major functions: it will detect when a Storage Device is connected to your router and map a driver letter for it, and it will allow you to safely disconnect the Storage Device.

Storage Manager will start automatically when Windows starts and it will show as an icon in your System Tray. Once it detects that a Storage Device is connected to the router, it will assign the device a Drive Letter. The device will subsequently be available as a network drive in My Computer.

 

The Context Menu of Storage Manager for Windows allows you to safely disconnect the Storage Device and to shut down Storage Manager itself.
The Installer will create a folder Belkin with subfolder Storage Manager in the Start Menu. This contains two items: Launch Storage Manager (in case you had shut it down) and Uninstall Storage Manager.

 

Belkin Storage Manager for Mac OS

Storage Manager for MacOS installs itself in the "Other" section of the OS X  System Preferences. When you click it there, it will show the Configuration Panel where you can start and stop Storage Manger; tell it to automatically start when you login to the Mac and whether or not it should automatically connect to disks when they are detected.
 

The Storage Manager Icon in the Menu Bar is shown on the left. When you click it, comes up with a menu the actions on which depend on whether a device is connected.

When a Device is connected and mounted, the menu will allow you to show it (open a browser window) when it is not mounted, it will offer you to do so. "Mounting" the device is the equivalent of assigning it a drive letter in Windows.

The other options in the menu are to open the configuration panel, the about dialog, a short help and to stop Storage Manager.

There is no option in the menu to unmount a device. This has to be done using the Eject button in the browser window (see below).

Unfortunately, when you use Mac Storage Manager to connect to a device, it will show the router in the browser by its IP address, where the built-in networking MacOS will show it by its name. This makes the router appear twice which may be confusing. You can use the Eject button next to the IP address or name to disconnect from the device.